๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ’ป Becoming A Disciplined Developer

๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ’ป Becoming A Disciplined Developer

ยท

4 min read

image.png Discipline is a key for achieving work toward a goal. Rome wasn't built in one day it required long tedious and consistent effort.This thought can be applied to your developer's journey.

The disciplined developer๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ’ป

The disciplined developer is a philosophy about being a consistent developer.Let's walk through the meaning of this idea. Note that this is personal and by no mean universal. In order to progress I think you should aim for an ideal model.

The purpose ๐ŸŽฏ

Firstly it benefits you as an individual. As you know practices makes perfect.You surely heard or read about the theory of the 10 000 hours. Malcom Gladwell stated that it takes 10 000 hours to come a master in a field. There has been a lot of discussion about this but he makes a great point. image.png Practice helps you to become better but there is more. For instance if I am using the wrong technique for 10k hours I won't become better. It means that they are others parameters impacting your progression. There is also the level of focus.Being fully focused on a task helps you to perform better. Try to learn all instrument at once you simply cannot be a whole orchestra by yourself (at the beginning at least).This apply to programming as well. All this concept are very generic and can pretty much apply to wide variety of fields. I will leverage concepts from books and personal experiences to apply it to programming.

Mastering project management ๐Ÿ—‚๏ธ

image.png Project management is boring but useful.This an area where I need practice.I think working with a system for your project is a key component.You organize your clothes in your wardrobe to retrieve them later. As it's hard to practice regularly having a system helps. It allows you to :

  • remove friction
  • stop wasting time
  • clearer vision

Making your project easy makes it easy to work on.

Tune your tools ๐Ÿ› ๏ธ

image.png As a developer you must focus on valuable work.Like a craftsman you have to know your tools.Removing physical barrier to do work also helps you achieve more. My choice for the tools that I use for programming is balance between efficiency and comfiness. Coming first your setup. Of course as a programmer your setup is at the base of your tool chain.First get a good PC, a nice chair and great peripherals that's the basis.For the OS, I personally use Linux(Manjaro) for programming which great. For example I don't have trouble installing libraries and I can use the terminal do get things done quickly. I use Vs code as an IDE because I do a lot of different stuff and it allows to centralize everything quickly. For my project management I use Notion as I can keep track of tasks and keep a logbook.Take your time in finding what suits you best be curious and look at others developers setup to stay updated.

Be Water ๐ŸŒŠ

image.png

Empty your mind. Be formless, shapeless, like water. You put water into a cup, it becomes the cup.Bruce Lee

Being consistent for me is not like a being a monk. Being disciplined as a developer is constantly searching for improvements. For example, technologies or evolving new technologies appears.You cannot practice the exact same thing you have to build resilience.Try new tools new approaches new languages. Your knowledge as a developer must no be monolithic, instead you should cultivate your difference.I strongly advise you too to discuss with other developer. It will offers you a wider perspective and new vision over technologies.Because your journey is unique, constantly searching and going outside of your technical comfort zone will make you stand out.

Conclusion ๐Ÿ”š

Being disciplined can help you tremendously as a developer. To summarize it quickly:

  • practice regularly
  • reduce friction to work
  • be curious

I love to hear your opinion on the subject in the comments. This article is just about talking about my vision of being a better developer.Let me know what did you think about it.

Side note : This was my last article in the 4articles4week writeathon it has been such a great experience as a starting writer

See you later ! moon-knight-fall-backwards.gif

Did you find this article valuable?

Support DAIKH NASSIM by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย